Posted by: All things nice.. | June 30, 2009

Today I like….

Pine Martens [Martes martes]

The Irish name for pine marten is Cat crainn meaning tree cat. The pine marten is one of Ireland’s most exquisite native mammals.  I think they are adorable wee animals about the size of a cat. It is a relation of the Stoat but looks more like a cat.  Pine Martens make their nests in undisturbed places such as hollow trees. As they are nocturnal shy animals they are rarely seen in the daylight and I have yet to  spot one!

Responses

  1. 22 April 2010

    Just after seeing my first pine marten at 11pm tonight. He had set off one of my external security lights as he was licking up the remains of some birdfeed from the ground. Area…Slieve Foye wood, Carlingford, Co. Louth. I thought at first that it was a cat but then he came right out in front of the light.

  2. Thanks for taking the time to read my blog. Well spotted Noel, I have yet to see one 😦 Did he look much like the one in the image above? I realised I never sourced where I got that image from! I would love to also see a pygmy shrew. I love nothing more than exploring outdoors and spotting wildlife. There is so much road kill lately on the roads particularly badgers, cats and pheasants, did you notice that too?


Leave a Reply

Categories

